Care, Compassion & Companionship

Archive for June 6, 2015

Barbara, the whole story

I will be sharing a few videos. The aim is enhance knowledge of staff and families.

Below is a very powerful video showing the experience of a resident who has dementia from her perspective.

I personally found it very moving and emotional. While the movie is based around experiences in a hospital, but it has lessons that carehome staff can learn.

In the Person centered training course that I do, I cover many aspects of dementia care that I learned from Tom Kitwood when I did my Dementia Care Mapping course.

Our aim should always be to ensure in every shift that you work to bring light into the lives of all of our residents. Ensure meaningful and positive interactions so that they want to live, achieve, enjoy the next phase of their lives in this care home.

Please take time to watch this video. I watched in many times to learn as much as I can from it.

Regards

Mr J Singh,